Running a Home Sim From a Tablet: What Works on iPad, What Works on Android, and What Still Needs Windows
Which golf simulator packages run from an iPad or Android tablet? Nine bundles from $1,399 sorted by budget, with an app compatibility matrix and screen setup.
You can run a home golf simulator from an iPad or an Android tablet, but how much of the session the tablet actually handles depends on the package. Some bundles play full courses, range sessions and data on a tablet app. Others show numbers or session history on the tablet while course play still needs a computer. A few keep their headline software on Windows, which leaves the tablet doing little more than acting as a remote.
This page covers nine packages, from the Rapsodo MLM2PRO Practice Package at $1,399 to the FlightScope X3 SwingBay at up to $18,299. They are grouped by budget, because price usually narrows the list before platform does. For each one you will see the minimum room size, the tablet platforms its software supports, and any Windows-only pieces that would still send you to a PC. The short version: iPad has the widest choice, Android has fewer options, and GSPro, TGC 2019 and the FSX titles stay Windows-only in this roundup.
If you already own a Windows PC, a tablet is a handy second screen for menus and a comfortable place to review shots. If you do not own one, a tablet-first package can avoid the cost of a computer and a stand for it, but only if every app you plan to use runs on the tablet. Check the app store listing for each piece before you buy.
How we put this together: we compared published manufacturer specs, retailer listings and owner reports, then applied the criteria below. Links may earn us a commission.
| Pick | Our label | Best for | Price (approx.) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rapsodo MLM2PRO Practice Package | Under $2,100, iOS or Android, no PC at all | Small-space practice on either platform | $1,399 to $2,049 |
| Garmin Approach R10 Premium Package | Lowest-cost screen bay run from an iPad | iPad players who want a real screen | From $3,149 |
| FlightScope Mevo+ SwingBay | Radar bay with apps on iPad and Android | Households with both iPad and Android users | $6,099 to $7,745 |
| SkyTrak+ SIG8 | Smallest room, iPad course play through WGT | Tight rooms where iPad course play matters | $5,799 to $12,763 |
| Full Swing KIT Garage Package | Garage pick with a screen on the door tracks | Garages with consistent door track width | $6,499 to $11,919 |
| Uneekor EYE MINI Retractable Package | Living-room pick with a roll-up screen | Shared rooms where the bay needs to disappear | $7,799 to $11,249 |
| Foresight Sports GC3 Practice Package | Camera tracking with a tablet game included | Camera tracking plus Awesome Golf on a tablet | $7,699 to $10,149 |
| TruGolf APOGEE SIG8 | Overhead camera bay with E6 on iPad | iPad players who want ceiling cameras and voice control | $12,799 to $24,554 |
| FlightScope X3 SwingBay | Most data parameters on a tablet | Players who want the deepest data set | $15,295 to $18,299 |
Nine tablet-ready packages compared in one table
The table lists the packages cheapest first, using the lowest list price in each range. Prices are as stated at the time of writing. Platform columns show what the sources list for each package's core software, and "Not listed" means the sources do not say.
| Package | List price (at time of writing) | Tracking | iPad course play | Android course play | Windows needed for | Minimum room |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rapsodo MLM2PRO Practice Package | $1,399 to $2,049 | Radar plus cameras, 13 parameters | Yes | Yes | None listed | 8 ft H x 9 ft W x 16 ft D |
| Garmin Approach R10 Premium Package | From $3,149 | Portable radar | Yes (E6 Connect, iOS) | No (E6 is iOS only in this bundle) | None listed | About 12 ft W x 9 ft H x 16 ft D |
| SkyTrak+ SIG8 | $5,799 to $12,763 | Dual Doppler radar plus photometric cameras | Yes (WGT, iPad only) | Yes (E6 Connect) | TGC 2019 | 8 ft 4 in W x 8 ft 4 in H x 13 ft 4 in D |
| FlightScope Mevo+ SwingBay | $6,099 to $7,745 | 3D Doppler radar with Fusion Tracking | Yes (FS Golf) | Yes (FS Golf) | GSPro and TGC 2019 | 9 ft H x 12 ft W x 16 ft D |
| Full Swing KIT Garage Package | $6,499 to $11,919 | 24 GHz radar, 16 data points | Yes (free iOS app) | Not listed | None listed | 8 ft W x 9 ft H x 16 ft L |
| Foresight Sports GC3 Practice Package | $7,699 to $10,149 | Triscopic cameras, 10 data points | Yes (Awesome Golf) | Yes (Awesome Golf) | FSX titles | 10 ft W x 8 ft H x 12 ft L |
| Uneekor EYE MINI Retractable Package | $7,799 to $11,249 | Dual cameras, 19 data points | Yes (View Air) | Yes (E6 Connect) | View, GSPro and TGC 2019 | 10 ft L x 13 ft W x 10 ft H |
| TruGolf APOGEE SIG8 | $12,799 to $24,554 | Stereoscopic cameras | Yes (E6 Connect Home, iOS) | Not listed | None listed | 8 ft 4 in H x 8 ft 4 in W x 13 ft 7 in D |
| FlightScope X3 SwingBay | $15,295 to $18,299 | 3D Doppler radar with image processing, 50+ parameters | Per app (FS Golf, E6, Skills) | Per app | None listed | 9 ft H x 11 ft W x 18 ft D |
App support changes with updates, so check each app store listing before you buy.
Check current package pricesThree levels of tablet support, and why the label misleads
"Works with iPad" can mean three quite different things, and the difference decides whether you can skip the computer. It helps to sort every package into one of three levels before you compare prices.
Level one is full play on a tablet. Course play, range practice and data all run inside a tablet app, and nothing else is needed. The Rapsodo Golf App on iOS and Android, E6 Connect on iOS, WGT through a SkyTrak on an iPad, Awesome Golf, Garmin Golf and FS Golf all sit in this group for the parts of their products that the sources describe. A package at level one is the simplest to live with, because the tablet can run the whole session.
Level two is data and review only. The tablet app shows numbers or your session history, but the course play itself still runs on a PC. The FSX Pro mobile app that comes with the Foresight GC3 is the clearest example. It is useful for reviewing sessions on your phone or tablet, but it does not replace the Windows software for playing the game.
Level three is a PC required for the headline software. Some of the best-known course libraries, including the FSX titles, Uneekor View, GSPro and TGC 2019, run on Windows in the sources we used. A package can have a tablet app for range work and still need a computer the moment you want the game you bought it for.
The launch monitor does the measuring, and the tablet runs the app and drives the screen. That split is why the tablet can be the controller even though it cannot track a ball on its own. If you have wondered whether a phone could do the job alone, why a phone or tablet cannot measure shots alone explains the sensing side in more detail.
How the packages were scored
The nine packages were scored on five criteria, weighted so that the tablet question carries the most weight. Tablet completeness counts for 30 percent, because the whole reason to shop this way is to skip the PC. It asks whether course play, practice and data all run on a tablet app, or whether key software is Windows-only. Launch monitor data counts for 20 percent and looks at the parameter count and the tracking method each maker publishes, whether radar, cameras or both. Price including first-year software also counts for 20 percent, based on list price at the time of writing plus what software is included and what renews.
Platform reach takes 15 percent and asks whether the bundled and supported apps run on iPadOS, Android or both. Room fit takes the final 15 percent and uses the minimum width, height and depth each seller publishes, along with whether the package offers a retractable or portable option for a shared space.
The information comes from manufacturer specifications, retailer bundle contents, app store listings and owner reports. The packages were not set up for this page, so every statement about how a unit performs is a report of what a source says, not a result of a session on our side. Grouping by budget follows from the scoring. Price usually decides which packages are even on the table, and platform support then decides between the ones left.
Under $3,500: portable starts with a net
The entry tier is where the tablet question is simplest. Both packages here are built around a launch monitor and a net, and both work from a tablet for their core course or range software. The trade-off is that neither one gives you a projected screen as standard, so you either play on the tablet itself or cast to a TV, which changes how the setup feels in a room.
Rapsodo MLM2PRO Practice Package: phone-sized setup, works on both platforms
At $1,399 to $2,049 at the time of writing, the MLM2PRO package is the lowest-priced bundle in this roundup and the only one here where both iOS and Android are supported for the core app with no PC involved. The launch monitor combines Doppler radar with high-speed cameras and reports 13 shot parameters. It is compact enough to carry, and the package includes a carry case and a tripod, which makes it easy to move between rooms or take outside.
The bundle includes a SwingTurf mat in either 5 by 5 feet or 4 by 9 feet, and a SwingNet Lite or Pro. The Pro version has automatic ball return, which matters if you hit many balls in a row and do not want to stop for pickup. There is also an optional 5 by 8 foot landing turf that doubles as a putting surface, and three Callaway RPT Chrome Soft balls come with the set. The minimum space is 8 feet high, 9 feet wide and 16 feet deep, which fits a garage bay or a spare room that most people would not think of as a golf space.
Software comes as one year of Rapsodo Golf App premium, which covers more than 30,000 courses on iOS and Android. The sources we used do not state what the premium plan costs after that first year, so check with Rapsodo before you commit to the package on the assumption that the software stays cheap.
Where the MLM2PRO package falls short
The biggest limitation is that there is no projector or screen in the bundle. Course play happens on the tablet itself or on a TV you cast to, so the image is only as large as the device or the television in your room. That works well for a quick session on a desk or in a living room, but it is a different experience from a full-size projected course. If a big picture is the reason you want a simulator, the MLM2PRO will feel small compared with the enclosure packages further down this page.
The second limitation is the room. The minimum space is smaller than the bays later in this roundup, but you still need the height to swing and a safe area behind the net. A portable setup makes it easy to move the kit out of the way, but it does not make the swing area any bigger. For a more detailed look at the hardware, see the Rapsodo MLM2PRO review.
Garmin Approach R10 Premium Package: an iPad bay with a real screen
The Garmin Approach R10 Premium Package starts at $3,149 at the time of writing and is the cheapest route in this roundup to a full screen bay that you run from an iPad. The R10 is a portable radar unit that reports club path, face angle and smash factor, and it runs for about 10 hours on a charge. It is a practical choice if you want the launch monitor to move between a garage and a storage room without much fuss.
The enclosure is a Net Return Simulator Series net and screen. You can choose a width of 8, 10 or 12 feet, and the screen floats within the frame. The package is rated to 225 mph, and it includes a Net Return Pro Turf mat. The minimum space is about 12 feet wide, 9 feet high and 16 feet deep, though that varies with the screen size you pick, so measure before you order the widest option.
The software side is the part to read carefully. E6 Connect comes with six courses and 17 practice ranges, and in this bundle it is listed for iOS only. That makes the R10 package a clear iPad option and a poor fit for an Android household. Garmin Golf, which covers more than 43,000 courses, is a separate membership at $99 a year, and that cost sits on top of the bundle price. Over three years the subscription alone adds $297, which is covered in more detail in the section on costs later in this page.
Where the R10 package falls short
The projector is not included in the bundle, and the sources we used flag this as something to verify with Garmin for your specific package. You need to budget for a projector and a mount separately, which can change the total cost noticeably. Check whether the package you are looking at includes the projector before you assume the price is complete.
The other limit is the software split. Since the bundled E6 Connect is iOS only, an Android tablet is not a good match for this package. If your household uses both platforms, the tablet-first bundles in the middle tier are a safer bet.
$5,500 to $12,000: full enclosures you can drive from a tablet
The middle tier is where most people end up when they want a complete bay. Every package here includes an enclosure, a screen, a launch monitor and a mat, and every one of them can be run from a tablet for at least part of its software. The differences come down to which platforms the apps support, how much room the bay takes up, and whether the screen folds away when you are finished.
⛳Golf simulator enclosure set up in a home room, viewed from the tee
FlightScope Mevo+ SwingBay: best spread of iPad and Android support
The Mevo+ SwingBay costs $6,099 to $7,745 at the time of writing and needs about 9 feet of height, 12 feet of width and 16 feet of depth. The Mevo+ uses 3D Doppler radar with Fusion Tracking, which the maker presents as suitable for indoor and outdoor use. It reports ball speed, carry, launch angle and shot shape, which covers the numbers most players look at first.
The SwingBay itself is the enclosure. It has an impact screen, netting, blackout walls and tear-away hook-and-loop side nets, and the push-button aluminum frame goes together in under 20 minutes according to the maker. The bundle includes SwingTurf in either a 5 by 5 foot or a 4 by 9 foot size, with a real tee, and an Optoma ZW350 laser projector. The projector mount is not part of the base price, so plan for it separately if you want the projector up on the ceiling rather than on a stand.
The software is where this package stands out for mixed households. E6 Connect comes with 12 courses, including Pebble Beach and St Andrews, and the FS Golf app runs on iPad and Android. The sources also note that the Mevo+ works with TGC 2019 and GSPro, but those run on a PC, not on the tablet. If you plan to buy the PC later, the bay is ready for it. If you do not, the tablet apps cover the basic course and range play. More on the hardware is in the Mevo+ review.
SkyTrak+ SIG8: compact studio, but course play on iPad only
The SkyTrak+ SIG8 is the smallest room in this roundup. It runs from $5,799 to $12,763 at the time of writing, and the minimum space is 8 feet 4 inches wide, 8 feet 4 inches high and 13 feet 4 inches deep. For a spare bedroom or a narrow room where a bigger enclosure would not fit, that footprint is the main reason to look at it.
The SkyTrak+ uses dual Doppler radar combined with photometric cameras to report ball and club data. The SIG8 studio comes with a SIGPRO premium screen, and the seller says it produces low bounce-back and noise. A projector and cables are included. The seller's own claim on bounce-back and noise is worth testing against your own room, since the figures are the maker's and not independent.
The software comes in two parts that matter for a tablet buyer. Play and Improve includes WGT course play, which works online and offline, but WGT play supports iPad only. Third-party E6 Connect and TGC 2019 are also supported, and E6 runs on both iPad and Android. So an iPad user gets the full course experience from WGT, while an Android user is limited to E6 for course play. SkyTrak plans have Game Improvement and Play and Improve tiers, and the pricing for those tiers should be checked before you buy, because the sources do not give current figures. For more on the launch monitor itself, see the SkyTrak+ review.
Full Swing KIT Garage Package: retractable screen for a working garage
The Full Swing KIT Garage Package runs from $6,499 to $11,919 at the time of writing. The KIT is a 24 GHz dual-mode radar unit with machine learning, 16 data points and a built-in 4K camera for swing video. It has a 5.3-inch OLED display on the unit itself, so you can check numbers without the tablet.
The distinguishing part is the screen. The G-TRAK retractable impact screen comes with a remote and mounts to existing garage door tracks, so the bay disappears when the door opens or the screen comes down. The track width has to be consistent for the mount to sit square, and the sources flag that as a point to check before you buy. The minimum space for the smallest screen is 8 feet wide, 9 feet high and 16 feet long, which is a realistic size for a single-car garage.
The package includes a SIGPRO turf landing pad and a protective case with charging accessories. E6 Perpetual comes with five signature courses, and the Full Swing app is free on iOS and supports Apple Watch. The sources do not list an Android app for this package, so an Android tablet is not a good fit for the course software. If your garage is the target, the garage simulator options guide covers the other ways people handle a shared space.
Uneekor EYE MINI Retractable Package: hide the bay between sessions
The Uneekor EYE MINI Retractable Package costs $7,799 to $11,249 at the time of writing and needs a space 10 feet long, 13 feet wide and 10 feet high. The EYE MINI uses dual high-speed cameras and reports 19 data points. The unit itself is small, measuring 6.5 by 15.75 inches, so it does not take up much of the room.
The screen is the feature to look at. The HomeCourse retractable screen weighs 88 pounds, measures 8.5 feet high and 10.5 feet wide, and is ballistic-grade. It runs on a battery and is controlled by a remote. An Optoma ZW350 short-throw laser projector with 3,600 lumens comes with the package, along with a SwingTurf mat. The screen rolls up when you are not using it, which is why this package suits a living room that is shared with the rest of the household.
The software is the complicated part. Uneekor View runs on Windows, the View Air app runs on iPad, and E6 Connect works on iOS and Android. GSPro and TGC 2019 run on Windows. The package comes with a three-month Champion Package trial. An optional laptop is available with Windows 11, 16 GB of RAM and a GeForce RTX 4060, but the bay needs either a PC or an iPad to run, and neither one is included in the bundle. Budget for whichever device you choose, and check which courses and features are available on that platform before you buy.
Foresight GC3 Practice Package: tablet play through Awesome Golf
The Foresight GC3 Practice Package runs from $7,699 to $10,149 at the time of writing, and the minimum space is 10 feet wide, 8 feet high and 12 feet long. The GC3 uses a triscopic three-camera system and reports 10 data points. The sources note that its putting data is limited, so if short game is a big part of your practice, look at the parameter list closely.
The package includes SwingNet Lite or Pro. The Pro version has an aluminum frame, which makes it a better fit for a permanent setup. The bundle also has a 5 by 5 foot SwingTurf, an alignment stick and club markers, and a one-year warranty. It works indoors and outdoors.
This package is split across platforms in a way that matters. The FSX lifetime license, 25 courses, FSX Play, FSX 2020 and FSX Pro Performance run on Windows only, and they need a strong PC. The FSX Pro mobile app runs on iOS and Android and handles data and session review. Awesome Golf comes with a lifetime membership and runs on iPad and Android, which is the tablet route through this bundle. If you want the tablet to handle course play from day one, Awesome Golf is the piece that makes that possible. The GC3 review goes into the camera system in more detail.
$12,000 and up: tablet control for premium bays
The top tier costs more, and the tablet's job changes. In these two packages the tablet is the control surface for a camera or radar system that does far more measuring than the cheaper bundles, and both are built around software that a tablet can run without a PC. The question at this price is less about whether the tablet works and more about how much data you want, and whether the installation and the room can handle it.
TruGolf APOGEE SIG8: ceiling camera, voice control, E6 on iPad
The TruGolf APOGEE SIG8 runs from $12,799 to $24,554 at the time of writing. It uses ceiling-mounted ultra-high-speed stereoscopic cameras, and the package includes the ceiling mount and hardware. The system adds INSTANT IMPACT image analysis, slow-motion video and Hey Apogee voice commands, so you can change settings without touching the tablet. The minimum space is 8 feet 4 inches high, 8 feet 4 inches wide and 13 feet 7 inches deep.
The enclosure is the SIG8 with a SIGPRO screen rated to 250 mph and protective padding. Mat choice is part of the package, and the projector comes with a ceiling mount and a 50 foot HDMI cable. Because the projector is ceiling mounted, the install is more involved than a freestanding bay, and the sources note that it may need professional installation. Ask the seller whether that is included before you assume you can set it up yourself.
The software runs through E6 Connect Home, which includes 27 courses, practice ranges, unlimited profiles and online events. The sources list iOS as supported, which means an iPad is a practical controller for this package. The sources do not list Android support for it, so an Android tablet is not a good match for this bay. If you want the voice commands and the overhead camera, the APOGEE is the one package here that makes the tablet a voice-driven control panel rather than a simple screen.
FlightScope X3 SwingBay: deepest data on a tablet
The FlightScope X3 SwingBay is the most expensive pick here, at $15,295 to $18,299 at the time of writing. The minimum space is 9 feet high, 11 feet wide and 18 feet deep, which makes it the deepest bay in this roundup. The X3 uses 3D Doppler radar with image processing and Fusion Tracking, and it reports more than 50 parameters for both full swing and short game. It also includes an environmental optimizer and wedge D-plane analysis, which matters if you want more than ball flight numbers.
The SwingBay enclosure measures 8 feet high, 4 feet 2 inches deep and 10 feet 5 inches wide. It has a ballistic screen, an aluminum frame, side netting and blackout curtains. The projector is a 1080p short-throw laser unit rated at 4,000 lumens. The bundle includes SwingTurf in either 5 by 5 or 4 by 9 feet and a carry case.
The software is spread across several apps, and each one supports iPad, Android or both. FS Golf runs the course and range work, E6 Connect comes with 5 courses, MultiCam adds synced video, and the Skills app covers practice routines. Because the apps are split across platforms, read the store listing for each one before you order, and confirm that the courses you want are on the platform you plan to use.
Compatibility matrix: iPadOS, Android and Windows by app
This table lists the software that the packages in this roundup depend on. A cell shows "Yes" only where a source states support on that platform. A blank cell means the sources do not say, and it is not a sign that the app is unavailable. Check the app store for anything that matters to your purchase.
| App | iPadOS | Android | Windows | Launch monitors in this list |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rapsodo Golf App | Yes | Yes | Rapsodo MLM2PRO | |
| Garmin Golf | Garmin Approach R10 (membership) | |||
| E6 Connect | Yes | Yes | Garmin R10 bundle (iOS only in that bundle), FlightScope Mevo+, SkyTrak+, Full Swing KIT, Uneekor EYE MINI, TruGolf APOGEE, FlightScope X3 | |
| WGT via SkyTrak | Yes (iPad only) | No | SkyTrak+ SIG8 | |
| SkyTrak app | SkyTrak+ SIG8 | |||
| FS Golf | Yes | Yes | FlightScope Mevo+, FlightScope X3 | |
| Awesome Golf | Yes | Yes | Foresight GC3 | |
| FSX Pro mobile | Yes (iOS) | Yes | Foresight GC3 | |
| FSX 2020 and FSX Play | No | No | Yes | Foresight GC3 |
| Uneekor View | Yes | Uneekor EYE MINI | ||
| View Air | Yes | Uneekor EYE MINI | ||
| GSPro | Yes | FlightScope Mevo+ (on a PC), Uneekor EYE MINI | ||
| TGC 2019 | Yes | FlightScope Mevo+, SkyTrak+ SIG8, Uneekor EYE MINI | ||
| Full Swing app | Yes (iOS app) | Full Swing KIT |
Two points sit outside the table. The Full Swing app supports Apple Watch, and so does FS Golf according to the sources, so an Apple Watch can be a useful companion for either package. The second point is about the iPad itself. iPad Pro screens have a different shape from standard iPads, and that can change how an app frames the image when you mirror it to a projector. If you have a Pro model, test the framing with the app you plan to use before you commit to a projector position.
Getting the tablet picture onto a projector or TV
Getting the picture from the tablet to the projector is the one part of the setup most buyers do not plan for. There are three realistic routes, and each one has a different trade-off between delay, convenience and cable clutter. Mirroring is the wireless route, and it adds a small amount of delay that depends on your Wi-Fi. A wired connection avoids that. If you want to know where the rest of the lag in a sim comes from, where simulator lag comes from covers the parts outside the connection.
The steps below cover the most common setups. Check each app's own casting or mirroring guidance before you buy adapters, because some apps handle screen mirroring better than others.
- For an iPad with wireless mirroring, connect an Apple TV to the projector over HDMI and sign both devices into the same network.
- On the iPad, open Control Center and choose screen mirroring, then select the Apple TV. Start the sim app and confirm that the course fills the projector before you tee up.
- For an Android tablet with wireless casting, use a Google Chromecast on the projector. This route only works well if the sim app supports casting or mirroring cleanly, so run a short test session before you rely on it.
- For a wired connection on either platform, buy the USB-C or Lightning to HDMI adapter that matches your tablet, then connect it straight to the projector.
- If the HDMI run is long, plan for an active cable rather than a passive one. A long passive cable can drop the signal or produce a dim picture.
- Charge the tablet from an adapter with power pass-through, so it does not drain during a long session.
- Mount the tablet on a stand near the tee, so you can tap menus without walking back and forth between shots.
Wired connections avoid the mirroring delay and the Wi-Fi congestion that some households run into. Wireless keeps the tablet free to move around the room, which is a real benefit if you use it as a controller rather than a fixed screen. Both approaches work, and the right choice usually depends on how much you want to move the tablet during play.
If you plan to put the picture on a television rather than a projector, playing on a TV instead of a projector covers the trade-offs in size and room layout.
What it costs after the first year
The bundle price is only the start. Several of these packages carry software costs that continue after the first year, and a few bundles have extras that the headline price does not show. Read the software terms before you compare totals, because a package with a lower price can cost more over three years than one that costs more up front.
| Item | What the sources say | What to check |
|---|---|---|
| Garmin Golf | $99 a year for more than 43,000 courses | Recurring; the Garmin R10 bundle price does not include it |
| Rapsodo Golf App | First year of premium included | Renewal price is not stated in our sources |
| SkyTrak software | Game Improvement and Play and Improve plans unlock courses and multiplayer | Current plan prices are not stated in our sources |
| Uneekor View | Champion Package trial runs for 3 months | Confirm what the software costs after the trial |
| Foresight GC3 | FSX lifetime license and Awesome Golf lifetime membership included | No recurring fee listed in our sources |
| E6 Connect | Course count varies by bundle: 5, 6, 12 or 27 courses | Check whether the license is perpetual or annual |
| Hidden extras | Mevo+ projector mount, a PC or iPad for the EYE MINI, and a projector for the R10 bundle | Verify the projector and mount for your package |
The Rapsodo package is the clearest example of a first-year offer that might change. It comes with a year of premium on the Rapsodo Golf App and more than 30,000 courses, but the sources do not give the renewal price. Check that figure before you treat the package as cheap to keep running. The SkyTrak plans work the same way: the Game Improvement and Play and Improve tiers unlock courses and multiplayer, and their prices should be confirmed with the seller.
Here is a worked example for the Garmin R10 package. The bundle starts at $3,149. Adding the Garmin Golf membership at $99 a year for three years brings the software to $297, which makes the total $3,446 before you add a tablet, a stand or a projector. If the projector is not in the package you choose, add that cost on top of the three-year figure. Run the same sum for any package you are comparing, so you are looking at the same number of years in each case.
Two separate guides go deeper on this. How sim software subscriptions are priced explains the common plan structures, and launch monitors with no subscription covers the options if you want to avoid recurring fees altogether.
Retailers such as Rain or Shine Golf, Top Shelf Golf and Shop Indoor Golf offer financing on packages like these, and some offers come with 0% terms. The terms vary by retailer and by promotion, so read them carefully and check the total you would pay before you sign up.
Compare financing offersWhen a Windows PC is still the better buy
A tablet can run a good part of this list, but it cannot run all of it. Some of the most popular course libraries are Windows-only, and some of the packages that look tablet-friendly are only partly so once you read the software terms. Use the points below to decide whether a PC is worth adding to your setup.
- If you want GSPro or TGC 2019 course libraries, a PC is required. Neither runs on the tablet in the sources we used. Golf simulator PC requirements lists the specs to look for if you go this way.
- If you own a GC3 and want full FSX graphics, a PC is required. The tablet can run the FSX Pro mobile app for data and session review, but the full FSX titles are Windows only.
- If you want Uneekor View's full analysis, a PC is required. The View Air app on iPad covers part of the experience, but the complete analysis runs on Windows.
- If you play mostly range sessions and a few rounds a month on E6, Rapsodo or Garmin Golf, a tablet is enough. These are the platforms where course play and range work run on a tablet app for most of the packages above.
- If your household is Android only, lean toward the FlightScope, Rapsodo, E6 or Awesome Golf routes. Avoid SkyTrak's WGT course play, which is iPad only, and the Garmin R10 bundle's E6 Connect, which is iOS only in that bundle.
The point to remember is that the tablet is a controller and a screen for most of these setups, and the launch monitor does the measuring. If you expect to play the full course library of a Windows-only title, plan for a computer from the start rather than adding one later.
Before you order: a tablet buyer's checklist
Work through this list before you put down a deposit. Most of the problems people run into with tablet setups come from one of these points being skipped.
- Your tablet's OS and version are listed in the app store page of every app you plan to use
- You know which software tier you get on day one and what renews
- The screen connection is decided: Apple TV, Chromecast or an HDMI adapter is bought
- The room meets the package minimum, including the ceiling height for the driver
- A tablet stand or mount sits near the tee, and the charger can reach it
- Wi-Fi or Bluetooth reaches the bay if the app needs it
Questions tablet owners ask
Can I play GSPro from an iPad?
No. GSPro runs on Windows, so an iPad cannot drive it on its own. The iPad options in this roundup are E6 Connect, WGT through SkyTrak, the Rapsodo Golf App, Garmin Golf, FS Golf, Awesome Golf and View Air. If GSPro is the course library you want, plan on a Windows PC for the sim software.
Is AirPlay quick enough for sim play, or should I run a cable?
AirPlay adds a little delay and depends on your Wi-Fi, and many players accept that without trouble. An HDMI adapter avoids the wireless hop entirely. Most of the lag people notice comes from launch monitor processing and the app itself, so the connection is only part of the picture.
Does choosing Android rule out any launch monitors here?
It narrows the field. SkyTrak's WGT course play is iPad only, and the E6 Connect in the Garmin R10 bundle is iOS only. FS Golf, the Rapsodo Golf App, E6 Connect on several other bundles and Awesome Golf all list Android support. Confirm model compatibility on the maker's site before you order.
Do I need Wi-Fi in the garage to play from a tablet?
It depends on the app. Some connect over Bluetooth or the monitor's own network, while online courses, multiplayer and cloud sync need an internet connection. SkyTrak says WGT offers both offline and online play, so check the specific app you plan to use. Internet needs for sim apps covers the general picture.
Will an older iPad keep up with course graphics?
Check each app's minimum iPadOS version and supported device list in the App Store before you buy. Heavier 3D course apps tend to run more smoothly on newer chips, while range and data apps are lighter. The answer depends on the app version, so no single model can be named as safe or unsafe.
Related reading
All-in-One Golf Simulator Enclosure: Fit, Safety, Storage
Measure the room, pick the enclosure style that suits your household, then check five safety specs. A practical guide to kit enclosures for shared homes.
Best Commercial Golf Simulators: 9 Packages by Budget
Nine business-ready simulator packages in three budget tiers, matched to bars, hotels, studios and offices, with room minimums, running costs and a payback worked example.
Best FlightScope Alternatives by Budget and Room Size
Eight launch monitors worth comparing with a FlightScope Mevo, Mevo+ or X3C, grouped by budget, with room-depth math and three-year running costs.
Floor Mounted Projector Enclosures for Golf Sims, Compared
Six floor enclosures that shield a short-throw projector in front of the tee, sorted by what they protect against and what projector they fit, with sizing and placement math.