HGHome Golf Sim Review
Reviews & Comparisons

Red Stakes Golf RSG One: A Behind-the-Ball Camera Unit for Short Rooms

RSG One launch monitor review from specs and owner reports: how it reads marked balls, why it needs no ball-flight distance, room math, cost and RSG Pro choice.

HGBy the Home Golf Simulator Review team · Updated October 2026
Reviews & Comparisons

The RSG One is an indoor-only launch monitor from Red Stakes Golf. It combines high-speed cameras with infrared sensing and sits about six feet behind the ball on the target line. That placement, along with the maker's description of no minimum ball-flight distance, is what sets it apart from radar units that need a long run of space in front of the ball.

On the published information, the answers lean positive with a few caveats. Spin comes from marked balls, so you need the marked balls that come with the unit, and unmarked balls will throw the spin and carry numbers off. On paper, the room needs less depth than a radar setup, and the included software is described as carrying no subscription. The sources disagree on two points that matter before you buy: whether the unit connects by USB or Wi-Fi, and whether the included courses number 10 or 15.

The rest of this page works through the room math, the long-run cost and the choice between the One and the RSG Pro. Anything marked as needing confirmation is worth checking with Red Stakes Golf or your retailer before you order.

How we put this together: we compared published manufacturer specs, retailer listings and owner reports. Links may earn us a commission.

Where the RSG One lands, in one paragraph

The RSG One trades one set of limits for another. It gives you ball data without a ball-flight requirement and without a yearly software fee, and in return it is indoor only and needs marked balls for usable spin. Red Stakes Golf combines high-speed cameras with infrared sensing, and published coverage says the cameras read spin from the printed pattern on marked balls through the maker's Spin Logic system. Unmarked balls do not give accurate spin. The unit sits about 6 feet behind the ball, and no minimum distance to the net or screen is stated. Ball data is the focus, while club path and face angle belong to the RSG Pro. The unit is listed at about $1,999.99 at Rain or Shine Golf at time of writing, so check current pricing before you buy. The maker's published information describes no yearly software fee for the included courses and range, which you should confirm. This review is built from published information, retailer listings and owner reports. We haven't used the unit ourselves.

Check RSG One price

Is your setup a match? Quick fit test

Work through these questions in order. Most of them take a tape measure and a glance at your computer.

  • Do you practice outdoors or at a range? If so, skip this one. The RSG One is indoor only, and sunlight interferes with its cameras and infrared sensors.
  • Do you need club path and face angle? If yes, look at the RSG Pro or another camera unit that reports club data. The One reports ball data only.
  • Is your room shallow? If the space from the ball to the screen is short, the One's lack of a flight minimum is a real advantage. The room math section below shows the numbers.
  • Will you hit unmarked balls? If you refuse to use marked balls, spin will not be accurate. In that case, consider a camera unit that reads any ball.
  • Do you have a Windows 11 PC? Coverage says one is required, and you should confirm the exact requirements. A Mac-only home would need a Windows machine added. Our laptop guide covers the hardware side.
  • Do you want to avoid a yearly fee? The included software is described as carrying no fee, which fits. Third-party simulators have their own fees.

If you answered yes to indoor-only and no to needing club data, the One is a reasonable candidate for a shortlist. For a wider look at indoor options, see our indoor launch monitor guide and our piece on launch monitors with no subscription.

Published specs and reported numbers

The table below shows the specs as the sources describe them. Where a figure comes from marketing or conflicts with another source, the table says so.

ItemWhat the sources say
SensorsHigh-speed cameras plus infrared
PlacementAbout 6 ft behind the ball, on the target line
Ball-flight distance requiredNone stated by the maker
Data reportedBall speed, club speed, launch angle, backspin, sidespin and carry. Some materials describe 8-point tracking; confirm the full list, including launch direction and total spin
Not reported on the OneAngle of attack, club path and face angle; check with the maker
LatencyMarketed as zero latency; coverage cites under 50 ms
Size and weightAbout 12 in wide by 8 in deep, under 5 lb; check with the maker
ComputerWindows 11 PC required; check the current list with the maker
ConnectionSources disagree between USB and Wi-Fi; confirm with Red Stakes Golf
In the boxUnit, power adapter, quick-start guide and marked balls; foam-lined case per coverage
LightingIndoor only; bright, even lighting recommended

Three rows deserve the most caution. The connection type and the course count conflict between sources, so treat both as open questions until the maker confirms them. The 8-point tracking claim comes from marketing material, and the sources don't agree on the full list of reported parameters. The latency figure pairs a marketing claim with a coverage figure of under 50 ms. Read that 50 ms number as an upper bound from the sources, not a result anyone has measured for this unit.

How cameras and infrared split the work

The cameras do most of the reading on the One. According to coverage, they freeze the ball just after impact and read rotation from the printed pattern on the marked ball. That is why the marks matter. Without a readable pattern, the cameras have nothing to lock onto, and the spin figure stops being trustworthy. Infrared sensing tracks club position and speed near impact, again per coverage, and that part is what lets the unit work without following the ball's flight.

Because launch is read at impact, the unit does not need to watch the ball travel down the room. That is why no minimum flight distance is stated, and it is the main reason the room math looks different from a radar setup. Carry is then calculated from the measured launch and spin, the same basic approach as other camera-based units. The estimate is only as good as its inputs, so a bad strike or an unmarked ball will push the carry number off.

Owner reports and coverage both mention that off-center strikes are occasionally misread. That is a trait common to camera-based systems, and it is worth knowing before you judge a single odd number. Sunlight through a window can interfere with the cameras and infrared sensing, which is why the unit is indoor only. Bright, even overhead lighting matters more than a bright window behind you. For a broader view of the two approaches, our radar versus camera comparison covers the trade-offs, and how golf launch monitors work explains the basics.

Room math: a 6-foot setback with no flight minimum

The room math starts with the unit, not the screen. The placement is about 6 feet behind the ball on the target line, and you need a little extra space for cables. The golfer stands between the unit and the screen, so the unit and the stance together take up part of the depth. The one distance the maker doesn't set is ball to screen. Impact screens need a safe bounce-back gap, and common guidance is 8 to 10 feet for comfort and safety. For more on that spacing, see our guide to ball-to-screen distance.

Worked example A: a tight room

  • Behind the ball, for the unit: 6 ft
  • Ball to screen: 8 ft
  • Screen to wall: 1 ft
  • Total depth: 6 + 8 + 1 = 15 ft

By our math, the tight layout needs about 15 feet of depth from the unit's position to the wall. That figure leaves no room for cable slack or extra stance space, so measure twice before you commit to a room this size.

Worked example B: the same room with a radar unit

Assume a radar unit needs 8 ft behind the ball and 8 ft of clear flight in front of it, with the same 1 ft gap at the wall. By our math, that layout works out to 8 + 8 + 1 = 17 ft. Screen-safety guidance could add more on top of that if the screen needs it. The radar figures here are assumptions for comparison, not a spec for any one model, so check the requirements of the specific unit you are considering. Either way, the gap between 15 and 17 feet is the kind of difference that decides whether a basement or spare room works.

Width and ceiling height are set by your swing and your bay, not by the unit. The placement behind the ball matters more than it looks on paper, because the unit occupies floor space right where you stand to address the ball. Keep it where nobody steps on it or drags a bag across the cable. Our room size guide and the small-space setup guide cover the rest of the planning.

Getting it running

First setup follows a short sequence. Check the computer before you unpack anything, because that is the step most likely to stop you cold.

  1. Confirm the computer. Coverage says a Windows 11 PC with the required software is needed. Check our PC requirements guide and the maker's current list before you buy.
  2. Place the unit about 6 feet behind the ball, aimed down the target line.
  3. Set bright, even lighting over the hitting area, and keep direct sunlight from the windows off the unit.
  4. Connect the unit to the PC by USB or Wi-Fi. The sources disagree on which one applies, so confirm it first. Then launch the included software or E6 Connect.
  5. Hit marked balls with the pattern visible to the cameras.

Published coverage puts first setup at about 10 to 15 minutes. Treat that as a planning figure rather than a guarantee, since the time depends on your computer and how much cable routing your room needs.

Software included and the long-run cost

The included software covers a driving range and a course set. Sources disagree on the course count, with some citing 10 courses and others 15, so confirm the number with the maker before you count on a particular layout. Coverage describes no subscription for the included content and updates, which you should also confirm. Multiplayer is listed for up to four players.

Third-party software is a separate question. Coverage mentions E6 Connect and The Golf Club 2019 as compatible, but the current list may have changed, and the sources don't settle whether other popular simulator programs are supported. Ask Red Stakes Golf for the current compatibility list before you plan around a particular program. Third-party software carries its own license fees, and those are separate from the cost of the unit.

The long-run cost is easiest to see with a worked example. Start with the hardware: about $1,999.99 at time of writing, and no fee for the included software. The sources don't give a price for replacement marked balls, so the figures below leave them out. Over three years, the unit's cost stays at about $1,999.99 before any ball purchases.

Now compare that with a subscription-based unit. Many of those units charge a yearly fee, and the generic figure of about $200 a year is a rough starting point, not a price for any one brand. By our math, that fee adds $600 over three years. A unit with a similar hardware price and a yearly fee would therefore cost about $600 more over three years, before any spare balls. Check the specific brand's fee, because the gap depends entirely on what it charges. Our software subscription guide covers how those fees usually work.

Marked-ball upkeep

Marked balls are not a one-time purchase on this unit, because the pattern wears and the cameras need it to read spin. The sources don't give a replacement price, so ask the maker about both the source and the cost. Keep the routine simple and you will avoid most of the trouble.

  • Replace marked balls as the markings wear. Confirm the replacement source and cost with Red Stakes Golf before you buy.
  • Rotate a small set of marked balls so no single ball takes all the wear.
  • Check for scuffed or faded patterns before each session, since a worn pattern is the most likely cause of unreliable spin.
  • Keep unmarked range balls out of the bay. Unmarked balls do not give accurate spin, and carry will drift.
  • Keep a few spare marked balls in the bay so guests do not grab range balls by mistake.

Choosing between the RSG One and RSG Pro

The One and the RSG Pro share the same core approach. Both use cameras plus infrared sensing, and both need marked balls for spin. The Pro adds club data, including club path, face angle and club speed analysis. Coverage also says the Pro needs more precise alignment and may need a little more room, though that detail is worth confirming with the maker. The table sets out how the two compare on the points that usually decide the choice.

FactorRSG OneRSG Pro
Ball dataYesYes
Club path and face angleNot reportedReported
Club speed analysisNot reportedIncluded
Setup precisionNot singled out in coverageNeeds more precise alignment
Room needsBehind-the-ball placement, no flight minimumMay need a little more room
PriceAbout $1,999.99 at time of writing (One)Check current pricing
Best fitBall flight feedback and distance controlFace and path work

Choose the One if the goal is ball flight feedback and distance control, and your room is shallow enough that the lack of a flight minimum matters. Choose the Pro if face and path work is central to what you want to do. Coverage doesn't give a current price for the Pro, so check it directly with the retailer before comparing totals.

Compare RSG One and RSG Pro

Upsides and drawbacks at a glance

The table below sums up the trade-offs without a score. The upsides are the features most people buy the One for, and the drawbacks are the conditions you have to live with.

UpsidesDrawbacks
Spin measured from marked ballsIndoor only
No minimum ball-flight distance statedMarked balls required for accurate spin
No yearly fee for the included softwareBall data only on the One, with no club data
Small footprint behind the ballWindows 11 PC dependency
Measured launch and spin feed the carry estimateNo radar, so no outdoor ball flight

The drawbacks are the ones to weigh first. If you practice outdoors, the One is the wrong tool no matter how well it reads spin indoors. If your computer runs macOS and you don't want a second machine, the Windows requirement is a deal-breaker unless you're willing to buy one.

Alternatives at a similar budget

Prices for these alternatives change often, and the sources we checked don't give current figures for them, so confirm the numbers directly with each seller. Each option fits a different kind of buyer.

If you want any-ball spin and club data, the Bushnell Launch Pro review covers a unit that uses GC3 hardware and sells subscription tiers. The trade is ongoing software cost in exchange for reading a ball without marks.

If you want indoor and outdoor use, radar plus camera units such as the Mevo Gen2 or the MLM2PRO are the usual starting point. Our Mevo Gen2 review and Rapsodo MLM2PRO review go into those models in more detail. Both can handle outdoor practice, which the One can't.

If you want a camera that sits to the side of the ball, the Square Golf review covers that approach. It is a different layout from the One's behind-the-ball placement, so check the room math for your space before you decide.

What RSG One shoppers still want to know

The questions below come up most often for this unit. The short answers are based on the published information, and each one has a line about what to confirm.

Can it be used with a Mac?

The coverage says a Windows 11 PC is required, and that is worth confirming with Red Stakes Golf before you buy. If your home runs only a Mac, you would need to add a Windows computer to run the unit. Ask the maker for the exact software requirements before you commit to a setup.

How close can the screen be to the ball?

The One sets no minimum ball-flight distance, so the screen can sit closer than it would with a radar unit that needs ball travel. It still needs room for a safe bounce-back, though. Eight to 10 feet is common guidance for comfort and safety, and the screen maker's own spacing advice should win if it differs.

Does it need a launch-monitor subscription to keep working?

According to published coverage, the included software and its courses do not need a subscription, though you should confirm this with the maker. Third-party simulator software carries its own fees, so check those separately. Do not assume the total cost is zero if you plan to use a third-party program.

Is it accurate enough for club fitting?

Measured spin and ball data are useful for gapping and general fitting conversations. Fitters usually want club path and face angle as well, and the One does not report those. For serious fitting work, the RSG Pro or a higher-end unit with club data makes more sense.

Is it left-handed friendly?

The unit sits behind the ball, so in principle a left-handed golfer does not force a move from one side of the bay to the other. The maker's published information does not address this directly, so confirm it with Red Stakes Golf before you buy. Ask about mounting and placement for left-handed use.

Related reading